VolunteerMatters for YMCA

All the training and support you need to take full advantage of your YMCA volunteer management system.

Serving the unique needs of YMCAs

Credential Statuses

Follow

A credential is something a volunteer must attain in order to perform certain actions within the volunteer portal or kiosk. Some credentials are required of all volunteers (signing a waiver, agreeing to a code of conduct, attending a training) and other credentials must only be attained to sign up for a specific project need. For example, you may require a background check for volunteer work that requires interaction with children.  There are three different types of credentials – agreements, certifications, and background checks. Credentials can also be automatically approved upon application (e.g., electronically signing an agreement) or have an approval process (an administrator must review documentation before granting approval.

The statuses available to credentials are:

  • Incomplete
  • Submitted
  • Under Review
  • Approved
  • Expired
  • Denied
  • Exempt

Status Definitions:

  • Incomplete - Means that the volunteer may have started the credential application but did not finish it.  Also could mean that they submitted something that they thought was complete, but after review an admin set it to incomplete because they need more/better information.  Volunteers can self-update Incomplete credentials from my profile (when configured to allow it) - also, they will be prompted to complete "incomplete" credentials whenever they log in to the portal.  

  • Submitted - usually means submitted by the volunteer but some action must be taken by the volunteer organization or whatever 3rd-party service is linked to the credential.  A volunteer can update a credential in this status if the credential's "Volunteer Self Update" setting is configured to "Always" or "After Expiration".  If the volunteer signs up for a new assignment that requires this credential, they will not be prompted to apply again.  It sees the credential application as in-progress and therefore allows the sign-up.  This status is only recommended when something has been submitted by the volunteer but we are waiting for something from a third party (not something we need from the volunteer or the organization)
  • Under Review - means the application was submitted and received but it is awaiting review by the organization.  Typically this review process is in place because the organization admin must review what was submitted and must assess whether it should be approved, declined, or marked as incomplete.  A volunteer can update a credential in this status if the credential's "Volunteer Self Update" setting is configured to "Always".  If the volunteer signs up for a new assignment that requires this credential, they will not be prompted to apply again.

  • Approved - means the application was submitted and either automatically approved or set administratively by an administrator.  They are considered done with the credential until such time it expires (if configured to do so) or an administrator manually changes to another status.
  • Expired - Can be set automatically by rule (e.g., background check expires 24 months after issue date) or by an administrator.  The system sees this similarly to if the volunteer never had it at all ("Missing").  So, the volunteer would be prompted to re-apply whenever they sign-up for an assignment that requires the credential or upon login if it is a required credential. 
  • Denied- Set by an admin after reviewing an application.  A volunteer can never sign up for an assignment that requires the credential as long as the volunteer has been denied that credential in the past.  The only way around this is if an administrator manually assigns the person to the need. A volunteer can update a credential in this status if the credential's "Volunteer Self Update" setting is configured to "Always".
  • Exempt - The credential is automatically exempted for the volunteer when they fall below the "Age Exemption Limit" setting on the credential. This is similar to being approved in that the volunteer can proceed with the project assignment. However, when the volunteer’s age exceeds the age of exemption, the system will automatically expire the volunteer’s credential and they will no longer be exempt, requiring them to re-apply. 
 
Starting statuses:

Credentials can be "born" with any status as designated by the configuration.  However, they most likely are either born as:
 
  • Approved (i.e., electronically signed agreements)
  • Submitted (typically when integrated with a 3rd party - means the system passed it along to them and it is waiting to hear back)
  • Under Review (means someone from the organization must review the application prior to giving it a new status).

In-Progress statuses:
 
  • Under Review (waiting on the organization's review to decide approval)
  • Incomplete (waiting update from the volunteer - organization reviewed and decided the application was incomplete or incorrect and kicked it back to the volunteer)

End Statuses:
 
  • Approved (Volunteer can proceed with any activity.  May automatically change from this status if there is an expiration policy.)
  • Denied (After review by an administrator they declined the award of this credential)
  • Expired (The credential was either automatically expired by rule or by manually by an administrator)
  • Exempt (The credential is automatically exempted for the volunteer when they fall below the "Age Exemption Limit" setting on the credential.  This is similar to being approved and the volunteer can proceed with the project assignment without issue)
 

Volunteer Self-Update:
 
A credential can be configured to allow a Volunteer to self-update. There are three options during configuration: None, Always, and After Expiration.  
 
When it is set to "None", the volunteer can only update if the credential status is "incomplete" or on an "expired" required credential.  The update is also only available during login or on an "expired" credential, when applying for a project need, never directly from their profile.
 
When it is set to "Always", the volunteer can update their credential status at any time from their profile. They will also be prompted to to update at login those marked "incomplete" and "expired" required credentials.
 
When it is set to "After Expiration", the volunteer can only update if the credential status is "incomplete" or "expired". The update is available during login (for "incomplete" or "expired" required credentials), from their profile, or on an "expired" credential when applying for a project need.

A volunteer is ALWAYS prompted at login to complete any credential that is in the "Incomplete" status. Also, when a credential is marked "Required", they will also be prompted to complete any in the "Expired" status during login.
 
 
FAQs:
 
Question: When signing up for a volunteer opportunity that has required credentials, how does the system determine when to prompt the volunteer to apply for those credential they do not yet have?

Answer: Whenever the volunteer does not already have the credential application i) in-progress (submitted, under review, incomplete) or ii) already settled (approved, denied, exempt). Therefore, it will only prompt the volunteer to apply when the credential is missing (they never applied for it) or Expired.

Question: When is a volunteer prompted at login to complete a credential application?

Answer: Whenever they have a credential with an “Incomplete” status - or - when there is a credential marked as “Always Required” in the credential’s global setup configuration (required of all volunteers regardless of assignment) and the volunteer either has that credential “missing” or in an “expired” status.
 
Question: When I am trying to update an expired credential to sign up for a project need, I am getting the following message: "The Volunteer Credential cannot be edited in its current state {1}".
 
Answer:  What that means, is the credential setting for "Volunteer Self Update" is set to "None". The credential is in the "expired" status.  If a credential is allowed to expire, or an admin marks it expired, the credential itself must have the "Volunteer Self Update" setting configured to "After Expiration".
 
 
 
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

Powered by Zendesk